PGConf.EU 2011: My schedule

PGConf.EUI’m very exciting about upcoming PGConf.EU 2011, which will be held in Amsterdam, The Netherlands this month. And it’s time to choose the most interesting talks to visit. So I prefer these:

Wednesday, October 19

11:10 - 12:00
PostgreSQL 9.1 - what's new
Magnus Hagander

Despite the fact I read a lot about new Pg 9.1 features, it’s always interesting to get overview by someone who knows system very well and spent a lot of time developing it.

12:10 - 13:00
Look Out The Window Functions (and free your SQL)
Gianni Ciolli

It’s a shame, but I really know a little about this powerful functionality.

Lunch!

It goes without saying! :)

14:00 - 14:50
Explaining the Postgres Query Optimizer
Bruce Momjian

I hope index-only scans will be presented here also.

15:20 - 16:10
Asynchronous Notifications for Fun and Profit
Marc Balmer

I like NOTIFY\LISTEN functionality a lot, but sometimes it’s hard to find really useful use case for demonstration to clients.

16:20 - 17:10
Review of Patch Reviewing
Stephen Frost

Development process! What else to say?!

Thursday, October 20

09:30 - 10:20
Improving VACUUM Suction
Greg Smith

I liked the title. :)

10:50 - 11:40
Extensions are good for business logic
Dimitri Fontaine

Had no time to give extensions a chance. This time I will.

11:50 - 12:40
Fast GiST index build
Alexander Korotkov

Want to know more about techniques used.

13:40 - 14:30
More Mistakes Were Made
Selena Deckelmann

Have no idea what all of this is about, but I need to see Selena. :)

14:40 - 15:30
Port databases from MySQL to PostgreSQL
Andreas Scherbaum

Want to know what’s new in this area appeared.

Friday, October 21

09:30 - 10:20
Relational Database Designer for pgAdmin
Guillaume Lelarge, Luis Ochoa

Frankly speaking this is the first hard choice for me. I would like to listen Simon’s roadmap for PostgreSQL too. But ER-designer is my proffesional interest. So without a chance.

10:50 - 11:40
Bottom-up Database Benchmarking
Greg Smith

Benchmarking is so elusive subject, but exciting at the same time.

11:50 - 12:40
Mission impossible? Can I replace my most important databases with PostgreSQL?
Michael Meskes

Holy war detected! :)

13:40 - 14:30
Managing Terabytes
Selena Deckelmann

Never had deal with such huge databases, but need to know how it is.

Meet me at the PGConf.EU soon!

Nerd.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in PostgreSQL
3 comments on “PGConf.EU 2011: My schedule
  1. Can probably help you with your dilemna on the choice between Simon’s talk and Luis’s talk. I really would like to talk with you about our database designer and yours, about the tools we both work on. Could be quite interesting. I really like one of your previous blog post about the fact we can have all the results of a multi-statements query string :)

    Anyway, you should probably go to Simon’s talk, and we’ll talk about our tools during a coffee break or at any other time at your convenience.

    Don’t hesitate to send me an email about it.

    (Of course, you still can come to Luis’s talk. It should be a good one.)

Leave a Reply

Archives
Map of wandering
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

