PostgreSQL-8.4 Beta2 Windows installation issue

First of all, we have faced with the new brand installer provided by EnterpriseDB. Who cares…🙂

Anyway. I was asked about ‘postgres’ service account password.

First of all, I didn’t remember if I specified it for previous installations at all (when it was, without a doubt, created). And the last but not least, I had no idea how to get this password or even change it.

God bless Internet and Google his prophet.

warning For whom it may concern! To fix this “neponyatka” (непонятка, rus. – thingy plunged smb into stupor) go to Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Computer Management -> System Tools -> Local Users and Groups -> Users and there you may delete ‘postgres’ account, or change it password.

May the force be with you young postgresmen!

One thought on “PostgreSQL-8.4 Beta2 Windows installation issue

  1. So I found what you described and Right clicked on postgres and then chose the option to Set Password. I set the password and then tried to continue with the install. No dice. It still gave me the error. I then put my profile path and local path to C:\Program Files\PostgreSQL\8.4\data and it installed.

    Mark

    Like

Leave a Reply

