Building PostgreSQL 8.0.x using MinGW under Win… Magician wanted

Compiling the fresh PostgreSQL releases is not a problem under Windows using MinGW as you probably know.

One of my clients asked me to build pg_dump\pg_restore if it’s possible of course. Yes, I know that 8.0.x and 8.1.x branches are not supported anymore. At least officially. I was just curious.

Well, I spent a day making compiler happy. I built the client library libpq.dll, but dump and restore utilities are beyond my power.

The last words were:

pg_backup_archiver.o:pg_backup_archiver.c:(.text+0x43a): undefined reference to `__’
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [pg_dump] Error 1

Possibly my changes caused this. Since I’m not so familiar with GCC universe I’m still confused about it. Gurus’ advices appreciated.

And the last but not least. Is there any chance that MinGW compatibility patches for 8.0.x and 8.1.x branches will be committed officially?

Regards

PS Kids don’t do drugs!

2 thoughts on “Building PostgreSQL 8.0.x using MinGW under Win… Magician wanted

  1. __ looks like a very unusual symbol. However, this is a valid C identifier. Maybe there is a macro problem?

    You could take a look at the preprocessed code, this can be done with gcc -E.

    You could also grep your headers for constructs like __## that could be expanded to __

    good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

