Joomla! 2.5 with PostgreSQL support officially released

Joomla, one of the world’s most popular open source content management systems (CMS) used for everything from websites to blogs to Intranets, today announces the immediate availability of Joomla 2.5. Along with new features such as advanced search and automatic notification of Joomla core and extension updates, the Joomla CMS for the first time includes multi-database support with the addition of Microsoft SQL Server. Previous versions of Joomla were compatible exclusively with MySQL databases.

Way to go Joomla! But why don’t you guys mention PostgreSQL database in the main release story? Do you really think that MSSQL is more common choice for the database layer for any CMS? Seriously?

UPD Apparently I was a little rushed. PostgreSQL and Oracle support must be added in the shortest time. Waiting for explanations from Joomla!

13 thoughts on “Joomla! 2.5 with PostgreSQL support officially released

  1. The Postgres driver wasn’t quite ready for the release but it should be good to go for 2.5.1 which will be out in about 2 months. In the meantime you can download it from Github today and start using it.

    Elin

    Like

  2. I’ve been watching news releases on Postgresql because it’s my preferred database management system. When I saw it was now being added to Joomla, I downloaded and tried to get the database connector to show up. No luck.

    But I wonder, why would anyone start using MySQL if they plan to use PostgreSQL when it becomes available. It seems that the upgrade path to PostgreSQL would be difficult at best, perhaps impossible.

    Like

  3. Hi all,

    I has been using joomla since 3 years now and I immediatly started the 2.5 profile due to it’s support for Postgresql (my favorite database engine – I tryed Oracle too … 😉 ). I have Joomla 2.5.1, it’s all up to date but no Postgresql support is available.
    Why announce it if it’s not working at all? I espected at least a beta but it appears that we still have to wait for it…

    This is the only real issue I had with joomla so far… I’m kind of dissapointed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

